LearnWithZavi home
← All blog posts

AI Course Fees, Duration and Eligibility: What to Expect Before You Enrol

AI course fees, duration and eligibility depend on the type of course: free online, certificate, bootcamp, diploma, degree or executive. How to judge each.

The LearnWithZavi TeamUpdated

Learning AICareerCertificates

The short answer

AI course fees, duration and eligibility depend almost entirely on the type of course. Free online courses cost nothing, take minutes to weeks and are open to anyone. Certificate courses and bootcamps charge a fee, run for weeks to months and may ask for some background. Diplomas, degrees and executive programmes are the most expensive and longest, and have formal entry requirements. Within each type, what you pay mostly reflects the credential, the amount of human teaching and support, and the brand.

So rather than asking "how much does an AI course cost?", ask "which type of course do I actually need?" Once you know that, the fee, duration and eligibility follow. This guide deliberately does not quote prices, because they change constantly and vary by country and provider. Instead it shows you how to judge any fee you are quoted.

What is an AI course, exactly?

"AI course" covers two very different subjects that share a name.

  • Using AI: learning to apply tools such as ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini to real work. No coding, no maths. Often free or cheap, and quick to start.
  • Building AI: learning to create AI systems with programming, data and machine learning. Needs maths and coding. Usually longer and more expensive.

Most confusion about fees comes from comparing a course in one with a course in the other. A short course on using AI and a machine learning degree are not cheap and expensive versions of the same thing. They are different subjects. Our AI course syllabus shows what a full "using AI" curriculum covers.

Course types compared

TypeTypical durationTypical eligibilityWhat drives the cost
Free online courseMinutes to a few weeks, self-pacedOpen to anyoneUsually nothing; sometimes the certificate or exam is paid
Paid certificate courseA few weeks to a few monthsUsually open; technical ones may expect codingBrand, assessment, certificate, platform subscription
BootcampWeeks to several months, often intensiveVaries; may include an application or testLive teaching, mentoring, projects, career support
DiplomaOften one to two yearsFormal entry requirements set by the institutionAccreditation, teaching hours, facilities
DegreeUsually three to four yearsFormal academic requirements, sometimes an entrance examTuition, institution, location, length
Executive programmeDays to months, often part-timeUsually work experienceInstitution brand, live faculty, networking

These are typical patterns, not rules. Always check the specific course page.

What actually drives the fee

When two AI courses look similar but one costs far more, the difference is usually one of these:

  1. The credential. An accredited qualification from a university or recognised body costs more than a certificate of completion. Accreditation means someone external stands behind it.
  2. Human time. Live classes, marking, feedback and mentoring are expensive to provide. Recorded video is cheap to scale.
  3. Assessment. Proctored exams and graded projects cost money to run. Some platforms let you learn free but charge for the exam or certificate.
  4. Career services. Job placement support, interview preparation and employer connections add to the price.
  5. Brand. A famous institution's name costs more. Sometimes it is worth it; sometimes you are paying for the logo.
  6. Format. In-person teaching costs more than online. Intensive full-time formats cost more than self-paced ones.

None of these is bad. The question is whether you need what you are paying for.

Free does not always mean free

Many courses advertised as free have a paid step somewhere. Common patterns:

  • Free to learn, paid to certify. India's government SWAYAM platform is a clear, official example. Its About page (checked 28 September 2026) says courses are free, but a SWAYAM certificate needs a proctored exam that comes at a fee.
  • Free trial, then subscription. Full access for a short period, then monthly billing.
  • Free, but funded by someone else. Some government schemes pay the fee for eligible people. For example, the UK's Skills Bootcamps are free if you take them yourself rather than through your employer, and Singapore's SkillsFuture Credit lets eligible citizens offset fees on approved courses (both checked 28 September 2026). Our guide to free government AI courses covers these in detail.
  • Genuinely free. No payment at any point.

For more on this, see How to Choose a Free AI Course and our list of free courses with certificates.

How long should an AI course take?

Duration depends on the goal:

  • Getting comfortable with AI tools takes hours to a few weeks of regular practice.
  • Using AI confidently across your job takes a few months of steady use alongside learning.
  • Building AI systems professionally takes years, whether through a degree or long self-study.

Longer is not better. A long course is only useful if you finish it. A short course you complete teaches more than a long one you abandon in week three. Look at the length of a single lesson, not just the total, and ask whether it fits into your real week. How Long Does It Take to Learn AI? goes into this further.

Eligibility: what courses typically ask for

  • Free and short courses usually have no entry requirements beyond a device and internet.
  • Technical certificates may expect some coding, often Python, and basic maths. Check the prerequisites line.
  • Degrees and diplomas have formal academic requirements set by each institution, and may have entrance exams. For degrees after school in India, our guide to AI courses after 12th explains how the routes differ by stream.
  • Executive programmes often ask for a number of years of work experience.

If eligibility is not stated clearly on the course page, ask before you pay.

If a course has no clear eligibility requirements but promises to make you an AI engineer, be sceptical. Building AI needs real prerequisites. A course that skips them is either much easier than it claims or will leave you stuck.

Questions to ask before you pay

Use these before handing over any money:

  1. What exactly do I get for the fee? Teaching, marking, a certificate, career support? Get it in writing.
  2. Who issues the certificate, and is it accredited? A certificate of completion is not the same as an accredited qualification.
  3. Does the job or goal I have in mind actually require this credential? If not, a free course may do.
  4. What are the prerequisites? Will I be able to follow the first module?
  5. How long is a single lesson, and is it self-paced? Can I pause for a busy month?
  6. What is the refund policy? Know the deadline before you start.
  7. Are there extra costs? Exams, software, materials, renewals?
  8. Is there funding I qualify for? Check official government schemes before paying yourself.
  9. What can I see before paying? A syllabus, a sample lesson, the instructor's background.
  10. How recent is the content? AI changes quickly. A course recorded years ago may teach tools that have changed.
Ask an AI tool to check a course page for you

Here is the text of a course page I am considering: [paste it].

List:

  1. Every cost mentioned, including exams, certificates and subscriptions.
  2. The stated eligibility and prerequisites.
  3. The total duration and the length of one lesson, if given.
  4. Anything important that is NOT stated, such as refunds or accreditation.

Do not guess. If something is not on the page, say "not stated".

Then check anything important on the provider's own page yourself, because AI tools can misread or miss details.

Where LearnWithZavi fits

LearnWithZavi is free, with no paid stage. Our courses are for people who want to use AI at work, not build it. There are no entry requirements, lessons are short, and your progress saves in your browser. We are not accredited, so our certificates record completion rather than a formal qualification. If your goal needs an accredited credential, pay for one. If it does not, start with our courses or Start Here.

FAQ

How much do AI courses cost?

It depends on the type. Free online courses cost nothing; certificates, bootcamps, diplomas, degrees and executive programmes cost progressively more. Check the provider's official page for current fees, as they change often.

What is the duration of an AI course?

Anything from under an hour for a short free course to several years for a degree. For using AI at work, a few weeks of short lessons plus regular practice is a realistic start.

What is the eligibility for AI courses?

Free and short courses are usually open to anyone. Technical courses may expect coding and maths. Degrees and diplomas have formal entry requirements set by each institution.

Are free AI courses worth it?

For learning to use AI, often yes. They cannot give you an accredited qualification, so pay if your goal requires one.

What should I check before paying for an AI course?

What the fee includes, who issues the certificate and whether it is accredited, the prerequisites, the refund policy, extra costs and whether any funding scheme covers you.

Want to go deeper than one article?

LearnWithZavi courses are free, interactive, and need no account. Pick the one that matches your job and start now.

Browse the free courses →

One useful AI workflow every Friday

A five-minute idea to try at work, plus occasional new course news. No other emails, and one click to stop.

We use your address for the course email and nothing else. This does not create an account and does not send us your progress.

Found this useful? Pass it on.